Different Roots

Different roots, the ensemble’s first album, is inspired by Rodrigo Faina´s adolescence and childhood in Argentina, where the literature of Julio Cortazar and Jorge Luis Borges went hand in hand with jazz music and played a fundamental role in Rodrigo´s life. 

Each piece is inspired by literature and organically incorporates some form of improvisation. The album’s music evokes feelings and sensations that remain with us after having read each story, and aims to take us to a fantastic place that exists only in the composer’s mind.

Sound, space and a certain autumnal lyricism are the real common thread through the entire album, and some pieces arouse a deep feeling of nostalgia that some listeners might associate with tango music.

The instrumentation of most of the album is clearly rooted in jazz music. One could say that the ensemble is some kind of extended big band, although the characteristic orchestral writing takes the listener to unexpected places.


Different Roots – Rodrigo Faina and Change Ensemble

Digital Album. Includes high-quality audio in WAV and Mp3 + Digital Artwork and Album Cover. Physical copies can be acquire from the Bandcamp site.



Different Roots Personnel:

Fanny Alofs – Voice
Marieke Franssen – Flute
Ilse Eijsink – Bb Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Lars Wouters – Bb Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Paul van der Feen – Soprano, Alto Saxophone
Kees Krabben – Alto Saxophone
Iman Spaargaren – Tenor Saxophone
Nils van Haften – Soprano, Tenor, Baritone Sax (Soloist on If I’ to live)
Stefanie Liedtke – Bassoon
Marc Kaptijn – Trumpet, Flügelhorn
Gerard Kleijn – Flügelhorn (Soloist on At night)
Erwin ter Bogt – Trumpet, Flügelhorn
Victor Belmonte – Trombone, Bass Trombone
Daniel Quiles Cascant – Trombone
Dave Kutz – Tuba
Guillermo Celano – Electric Guitar (Soloist on A room full of people)
Folkert Oosterbeek – Piano, Rhodes
Clemens van der Feen – Double Bass
Marcos Baggiani – Drums, additional percussion
Jasper Le Clercq – Violin
Nina Hitz – Cello
Rodrigo Faina – Conductor, Electric guitar

Bonus track personnel: Metropole Orkest conducted by Jules Buckley

All compositions by Rodrigo Faina

Produced by Rodrigo Faina
Recorded by Erik de Reus at Studio de Reus, Rotterdam
Edited and mixed by REX at Rex studios, Madrid
Mastered by Manuel Pajaro and Rodrigo Faina
Artwork and cover design by Blanca Bonet